You have successfully added "..." to your cart
How High We Go in the Dark
Print Edition
ISBN
978-619-02-1317-8
Buy
Price
17.60 lv.
(22.00 lv.)
-20%
Digital Edition
ISBN
978-619-02-1318-5
Buy
Price
14.00 lv.
(22.00 lv.)
-8lv.
Information
Rating (45)
4.68888888889 45
Language
Bulgarian
Format
Paperback
Size
13/20
Weight
259 gr.
Pages
344
Published
10 October 2023

How High We Go in the Dark

For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague — a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice.

Beginning in 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus.

Once unleashed, the Arctic Plague will reshape life on earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects — a pig — develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet.

From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resiliency of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

About the Author
Sequoia  Nagamatsu

Sequoia Nagamatsu is the author of the National Bestselling novel, HOW HIGH WE GO IN THE DARK (2022), a New York Times Editors’ Choice, and the story collection, WHERE WE GO WHEN ALL WE WERE IS GONE (2016). His work has appeared in publications such as Conjunctions, The Southern Review, ZYZZYVA, Tin House, Iowa Review, Lightspeed Magazine, and One World: A Global Anthology of Short Stories, and has been listed as notable in Best American Non-Required Reading and the Best Horror of the Year. Other honors include a fellowship from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference and shortlist inclusions for The Waterstones Debut Fiction Prize, the Ursula K Le Guin Prize, and the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize, as well as long list inclusions for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, The Dublin Literary Award, and the PEN/Hemingway Award. He was educated at Grinnell College (BA) and Southern Illinois University-Carbondale (MFA), and he teaches creative writing at Saint Olaf College and the Rainier Writing Workshop Low-Residency MFA program. He is originally from O’ahu, Hawaiʻi and the San Francisco Bay Area and currently lives in Minneapolis with his wife, the writer Cole Nagamatsu, their cat Kalahira, their real dog Fenris, and a Sony Aibo robot dog named Calvino. 

Print Edition
Print Edition
ISBN
978-619-02-1317-8
Buy
Price
17.60 lv.
(22.00 lv.)

* 20% online discount
Shipping - Speedy / Bulgaria, Bulgarian Posts / abroad
Free shipping in Bulgaria for orders above 80 lv.
-20%
Discount
Shipping
Digital Edition
Digital Edition
ISBN
978-619-02-1318-5
Buy
Price
14.00 lv.
(22.00 lv.)

* 8 lv. discount from the print edition
Quick, convenient and easy reading
See how to read e-books
-8lv.
E-Books Information
Buy for Kindle
Colibri Publishers
1990-2024 © All rights reserved